Ça fait une semaine déjà que j’ai déménagé à Paris ?!

Wow, time flies! I can’t believe it’s already been a week since I arrived in Paris. It still hasn’t really hit me that I’m living here for a whole semester. Today, we had to be at Sciences Po for méthodologie classes as part of our orientation because everything is a bit different at Sciences Po. In one of my classes, I have to do an analysis of the consequences and other aspects of one of five different political themes prominent in France. The professors were really nice, though. Both of my classes are taught completely in French, and at first, I thought I’d have some trouble, but it actually was not bad at all.

Today we looked at two places, one in the 6ème and one in the 13ème. The one in the 6ème is perfect. It’s a 10 minute walk from Sciences Po. It’s done through an agency, which is a little annoying because we have to pay some fees, but the fees are pretty negligible compared to the whole picture, plus we can use the CAF, which is money given to students to help pay for housing. So, we’re not getting our hopes up, and we’re continuing to look for places, but hopefully this place works out, because it’s so nicely situated. Anyways, it rained a lot today. I know that it rains all the time in Paris, but this is the first time it’s rained this much since I got here.

I got a tour of the Sciences Po library, which doesn’t look like much, but that’s because 90% of the inventory is underground under a 23 kilometer squared area. That’s HUGE. It’s also one of the best political science libraries in the world. So, after the library tour, some people in my group and I walked around to kill time before the wine and cheese social at 18h30. The wine and cheese social was really fun, plus you know, bread, wine, and cheese: the trifecta of French gastronomy. What could be better?

Bisous,

Lisdye

Leave a Reply

