Paris updates

Bonjour tout le monde !

I know I haven’t written in a while, so I’m here now. This will probably be a long post, so bear with me. Maybe if I’m nice enough, I’ll put a tl;dr at the end of this post.

So I’ve been in class for almost a month, and it’s finally starting to pick up, but luckily all of my exposés are in November and I don’t have any midterms. Also, I get to write a 40 page research paper on a literary work in my French literature class. And yes, you did read forty, not four. All in French. So, that’s going to be really fun. At least that’s my final, right? Otherwise, school isn’t terrible. In fact, we have a fall break the week of October 20-24. I’m planning on going to Greece and Italy with Elyssa and Mikaela, and we’re really excited. I even get to start my fall break early since my Thursday classes before vacation got cancelled and I have no class on Wednesdays or Fridays.

I actually haven’t traveled abroad since I went to Amsterdam two weekends ago. I was going to go to visit my cousin in the Netherlands next weekend, but I decided to wait until after fall break to go visit her. Like I said, I’m planning a trip to Greece and Italy with my friends, so that’ll be really fun. Also, for all of you who are worried about me in Paris, since I know you all are, I have been avoiding the métro since the articles about possible ISIS attacks. Basically, I just walk everywhere or ride the bus if it’s too far to walk. And I’ve also tried to stay away from as many tourist attractions as possible, but I live within walking distance from the Louvre and the Notre Dame.

Also, I realized that I never wrote about where I live in Paris. Obviously I won’t give you the exact address, but I will tell you details about my neighborhood, because I love it. So I live in the 6ème arrondissement on the Rive Gauche, in the Odéon quartier. So, my métro stop is Odéon (obviously) on lines 4 and 10. I live about a 15 minutes from Sciences Po, so I walk to school. Actually, it would take me longer to get to school if I took the métro, so I walk. I live right by Café Le Procope, the oldest café of Paris, so that’s cool. And my street leads up to the Pont Neuf, the oldest bridge in Paris, so that’s nice. Other places within walking distance of my apartment include: the Latin Quarter, the Notre Dame, the Louvre, Pont des Arts, the Odéon theatre, etc. Also, I was walking around my neighborhood and I saw that Arthur Rimbaud, my history crush 💗, lived in my same neighborhood, just a street away.

And finally, I want to tell you about French men and how wonderful and in love I am with them. Just kidding, almost all of them are pigs. I was on the métro on Tuesday night, on my way home, minding my own business, when this man old enough to be my father asked me if I wanted to sleep with him from half a car away. I ignored him/gave him a disgusted look, but he wouldn’t let up. I look up at one point, only to see that he was smiling and taking a picture of me. Isn’t that just lovely? Then, I guess his phone didn’t give him a good enough picture, so he took one with flash. I’m just trying to ignore him, and he finally gets off, but then knocks on my window from outside for a one last “you sure you don’t want to?” So yeah, that happened. On Saturday, Elyssa, Mikaela, and I went out. We were walking, and these guys start to talk to us, and one’s about to put his arm around me, and I almost used my self defense skills on him. Then, at a club, a guy reached out to touch my hair. Was that really necessary? Then, we’re standing outside a bar, and these three guys are trying to hit on us, so we’re acting like we speak none of the languages they’re speaking to us. They tried to tell us they were undercover police and that we needed to talk to them. So pathetic. So after twenty cat calls, two groups of men hitting on us, and one guy touching my hair, we called it a night and walked back home. Also, don’t tell me to buy pepper spray. I was going to, but my pen pal said it’s illegal since it’s considered an arm. Shoutout to my dad who made me take a self defense class before I left, though!

Anyways, this post has been super long, but hopefully you have a nice idea on my attempts to be a Parisian.

Bisous,

Lisdye

PS. please send me hot cheetos

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Jona says:

    Hello, Neat post. There’s an issue together with your web site in internet explorer,
    could check this? IE nonetheless is the market chief and
    a big section of other folks will pass over your magnificent writing because of this
    problem.

    Like

    1. Yes, I’ll definitely look at my website from IE and see what I can do to fix it. Thanks for visiting!

      Like

Leave a Reply

