Rooftop living

Since the first thing I did in Paris was move into my apartment this time around, I figured I would dedicate my first real post to it. Last time, I shared a 24 m2  (258.33 ft2) studio in the 6e arrondissement at Odéon with my roommate. This time, I’m living alone in a 10 m(107.6 ft2) studio, which is also in the 6e arrondissement at Saint-Placide. I’m a little further south this time, and closer to the Tour Montparnasse , Saint-Sulpice, and the Jardin du Luxembourg. As the title suggests, I live under the rooftop on the 6e étage (that’s the 7th floor) sans ascenseur. Yep, that means that I’m walking up 115 steps to get up to my apartment. It’s not so bad, but I definitely still get a little winded, especially after carrying groceries or a purse full of papers and my laptop.

I live in a chambre de bonne, which is French for maid’s quarters. These are rooms on the last floor of the older buildings that, as you guessed it, maids used to live in. My room is pretty well equipped, considering the size. I have a shower, a sink, a bed, and a little kitchenette, equipped with hot plates, a microwave, and a mini fridge. Where is the WC, you might ask? It’s “sur le palier,” so it’s outside of the room, in the hallway. I currently share it with one other person though, and there haven’t been any problems so far. I basically live like Cinderella up in the attic, but I can’t complain because I have a balcony with amazing views. I can see the Tour Montparnasse (obviously, it’s kind of hard to miss), the Sacré-Cœur (on a good day), and the rotating beacon light of the Tour Eiffel.

I’m sure you are all wondering how I came across this gem, right? Well, one lucky University of Arizona student found this place a while back, and it’s been passed down from student to student, particularly through the French MA exchange.

And there you have it, a post about my apartment.

Bisous,

Lisdye

(PS. If you would like my address to send me Hot Cheetos, don’t hesitate to ask! 😉)

One Comment Add yours

  1. Natalie says:

    Ok I told you I needed your address
    …but text it to me

    Like

Leave a Reply

