Wait, you mean I’m in charge?

I should probably dedicate a post to my job. Well, I’m a lectrice d’anglais (Lecturer of English) at Université Paris Diderot-Paris 7 under the UFR d’études anglophones. The school is in the 13e arrondissement, next to the Bibliothèque nationale de France. The main buildings of the campus are former industrial windmills that were constructed during World War I (Les Grands Moulins de Paris), which is why the other hall is called Halle aux Farines (Grain Hall).

I teach in one of the newer buildings, called Olympe de Gouges. Like I said, I’m under the Unité de Formation et de Recherche, or UFR of English Studies. I work with 6 other lecteurs, two of which are British and the rest of us are American. It’s been quite fun getting to know them all over the past few weeks, and they’re all really great. The professor who oversees us is Anne Talbot, and our administrative assistant is Emmanuel “Manu” Casiez. We generally see more of Manu. He even took me to go get my bank account opened and my work contract signed with the university’s HR admin!

Okay, onto my actual job. So, I teach pratique orale and laboratoire classes for all three years of undergrad. My students are English majors, and so they’re all pretty good with the language. A lot of them even have British accents when they speak English! My class sizes range from 5-10 students, so they’re pretty manageable. The pratique orale classes are basically conversation classes, and the laboratoire classes focus more on the structure of the English language. I also only teach about 11 hours a week and get Tuesdays off, so I get plenty of time off to explore! I still feel a bit under qualified for this job, but I’m trying to learn as quickly as possible. Any tips on being an ESL teacher are greatly appreciated.

Bisous,

Lisdye

 

Leave a Reply

