Fall break: Switzerland

Grüezi everyone!

This week is fall break, or vacances de la Toussaint. I wasn’t sure I was going to travel anywhere, since my OFII convocation was also scheduled during the break. My friend, Molly, told me about how she was planning on traveling around Switzerland, so I decided to check out tickets and hostels to possibly meet up with her. After seeing train tickets and flights at 120 €, the trip looked like a no-go. I then decided to check out bus travel to Zürich, and found a round trip bus ticket for 65 €. Now, the bus takes longer and is slightly less comfortable, but it didn’t seem worth it to me to spend twice as much to get to Zürich.

I left Paris at 10h30 I got into Zürich on Sunday night around 19h45. After getting lost with only 3% battery, I called an Uber to my hostel. I didn’t make a plan of things I wanted to do, so I walked around the city. It was so foggy! I couldn’t see what was 20 feet in front of me, but the fog rolled out by the end of the day. I did, however, make an attempt to go to the Kunsthaus, only to find out that they close on Mondays. Anyways, after 36,000 steps, I decided to call it a day. On Tuesday, there was more exploring around the city to check things out. We didn’t go into any museums, unfortunately, but we did get some nice views of the city. It was not only foggy, also raining all day. After walking around the city like this, we treated ourselves to some fondue and wine for dinner. We wanted to go see the Berggasthaus Aescher (a hotel on a cliff) on Wednesday, so we went back to our hostel early to get a good night’s sleep so that we would have plenty of energy to hike for three hours. So, we wake up and it’s raining. A lot. Nevertheless, we took the train to Wasserauen in hopes that it was nicer there. Well, we could not have been more wrong. It was not only raining, but it was so cold and foggy that we decided it would not be fun to hike in that weather only to arrive at the top and not get any nice views. We decided to go to Appenzell instead, which is the cutest little town in that same region. It was drizzling there too, but nothing that was unbearable. All in all, it was a great plan B. After going back to Zürich and spending some time in the city, it was time to go to the bus station to take the overnight bus to Paris.

Switzerland is expensive but beautiful. I know everyone knows that, but you don’t really know until you’re there. For example, a kebab costs about 12,50 CHF, whereas in Paris, it costs like 5-7 €. I highly suggest going to a grocery store to get food, because it is cheaper. We ate a lot of preprepared meals from Coop. Also, I’m very thankful that I took two years of German, even if it was three years ago. I am very surprised how much came back to me, because I was all but certain that I didn’t know anything other than how to introduce myself.

img_3606

Das Opernhaus

img_3645

Our Fondue

img_3661

Wasserauen

img_3692img_3631

Molly and me, in Wasserauen and Zürich, respectively

img_3728

Appenzell

And there you have it, a little recap of my trip to Switzerland!

Bisous,

Lisdye

Leave a Reply

