48 hours in Strasbourg, la Capitale de Noël

Salut !

So, about two weeks ago, I took a last minute trip to Strasbourg to go to the Christmas markets. I’ve been wanting to go to Strasbourg for quite some time now, and had unfortunately been putting the weekend trip off. On top of that, my teaching schedule was a little inconvenient for traveling. Anyways, my friend Molly told me about the trip while she was visiting for the weekend, and I decided to find my way to Strasbourg. Because it was the first weekend of the Christmas markets in the city, the tickets were pretty expensive. I was looking at trains, and they just seemed a little out of reach. So, I decided to check out the bus fares from Paris. At 34 euros round trip, it looked like the bus was the best option. As far as housing went, I was in the Airbnb with Molly and her friends, which came out to 80 euros for both nights, which is pretty good, considering the fact that the place was very well located.

So I got up bright and early to catch my 7h bus from the Gare Routière Internationale, which is at Gallieni, the terminus of line 3. The good thing was that it was a direct bus to Strasbourg, so I wouldn’t have to change buses at all for the ride. The trip in total was about  8 hours, as it stopped in Reims, Metz, and Nancy before arriving to Strasbourg. Honestly, it was a little tiring, but at least the bus had wifi and power outlets. Anyways, I arrived into Strasbourg around 15h30, and I met up with Molly and her friends, Maggie, Brooke, Emily, and Lloyd. After walking the markets for a bit (and drinking some vin chaud, of course!), we went back to the Airbnb to get an idea of where we would eat dinner. We went to this place next to the cathedral to order some Alsacien food. It was pretty delicious. Afterwards, we hung out in our Airbnb and called it a night.

Saturday, we walked around the markets and the rest of the city. It was about 3 degrees Celsius, or about 38 degrees Fahrenheit, so it was pretty cold. Luckily, it was sunny, so it could have been worse. How did we attempt to stay warm when we were outside for a good portion of the day, you might ask? Some vin chaud throughout the day to lift our spirits! After walking around almost all day, we decided to head back to our Airbnb to warm up and rest before a night out on the town. We went to get traditional Flammekueche, or tarte flambée at the Brasseur. It was pretty delicious, although we were a little disappointed that we couldn’t get the buffet deal because we were fewer than 15 people… but oh well. After, we went to a soirée and then headed back to our Airbnb (but not without a kebab, of course). Sunday morning, everyone else left at 7h, but my bus didn’t leave until 12h30, so I got to walk around one last time before heading back to Paris. I had a lot of fun, but unfortunately I lost my voice and got sick afterwards.

Here are some pictures:

img_4287

The group, walking in a Winter Wonderland

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

My Flammekueche

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

Ornaments and villages from a booth

img_4097

Le sapin de Noël

img_4151

Alsacien architecture

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

View of the Cathédrale with some cute decorations

Anyways, the city is absolutely beautiful, I’m so mad that I waited this long to discover Strasbourg! (Un)fortunately, I didn’t get to go inside the cathedral or go up the tower, so it looks like I’ll have to make another trip soon.

Bisous,

Lisdye

Leave a Reply

