Weekend in Bourgogne, St. Paddy’s Day in Orléans

Coucou !

I know I haven’t written in my blog in forever and a day, but bear with me (I had an exposé for one of my classes and had been working on that).

As many of you know, I have a friend who is doing TAPIF in the Bourgogne (Burgundy) region. When I went to Strasbourg, I joined her and met a lot of her friends. Well, they were having a goodbye party for one assistant friend, David, whose program is up, so I decided to come go for the weekend. My travels started with a 6h53 (yikes) TGV to Dijon so that I could explore during the day. I walked around, went to the Musée de Beaux Arts, Musée Grévin, and the Jardin Darcy. When I got to the gare to take the train to Chalon-sur-Saône, I noticed that there were a lot of people, but I saw that my train was on the schedule so I just sat down. Then, I realized that the train was canceled, and after running to get the alternative train, they told us that they opened up a bus direct to Chalon, so I ran over. Luckily, I only got to Chalon about a half hour later than expected. I met up with my friends, got dinner, and watched a movie. The next day was quite sunny and so we spent 3 hours at a café to sunbathe a bit before going grocery shopping and getting ready for the party. The party was quite fun, and somehow between dancing and talking, we ended up not going to bed until 4 in the morning! There’s an open air marché just outside of my friends’ apartment on Sundays, and so we shopped around and got some food to eat before it was time for me to catch my train back to Paris. All in all, it was a wonderful trip and it was nice to get out of the hustle & bustle of Paris. Here are some pictures of Dijon/Chalon:

 

Last Friday, I went to Orléans. When I was in Edinburgh, I met Erin, who is doing the TAPIF in Orléans. Well, it turns out that we were in Strasbourg the same weekend and we were at the same party, but didn’t meet, but I met so many of her friends. Crazy, right? Anyways, she invited me to celebrate St. Patrick’s Day, so I went! I got into Orléans around 10h30 on Friday morning, and met up with Erin. Afterwards, we went around to the Cathedral and to the city center so that I could explore a bit. Then, we had a nice beer on the Loire river before heading back to her place to get ready and pick more people coming into Orléans for the evening. After pregaming at Erin’s place, we went out to bars and called it a night at around 2h. Luckily, I didn’t have a train until about 13h30, so I didn’t have to get up so early. It was a very unforgettable night, and I’m glad to have made it out to where Joan of Arc seized the town. Here are some pictures:

So, there you have it, my past couple of travels summarized into one post!

Bisous,

Lisdye

 

Leave a comment