Moving abroad: what to pack (& what to leave behind)

Salut everyone!

I know I have not written anything in forever and a day, but I’ll try to be better about posting articles in the future. I thought I’d write an article about things to pack (and more importantly, things to leave behind) when moving abroad.

What to pack:

  1. Basics: No brainer, but pack a few of the basics: a few tees, a couple of jeans, sweaters, a coat, etc, to layer and to use for all-weather situations. Bonus points if they’re neutral colors! I know this is not a surprise, but I figured I would include this as part of my list.
  2. Microfiber towel: I cannot recommend my microfiber towel enough. These things are so handy and necessary, especially if you’re staying in hostels, where they require you to rent a towel. If you don’t know what these are, they’re basically a big sham-wow for your whole body. I got mine at TJ Maxx (if you know me in real life, this won’t be a surprise).
  3. Documents: Might seem like a no-brainer as well, but especially for those of you who are moving abroad, bring any sort of document you feel they might ask you to have. For example, a few years ago in Paris, I was at my appointment to get my titre de séjour. I had to take a French test to validate my level of French, and had I had the attestation from the French test that I had taken earlier that year, I would have saved time.
  4. Travel journal: Your travel journal is your best friend. Bored on the train? Journal. Rainy day? Journal. Beautiful day in the park? Journal. Creepy guy hitting on you in the metro? JOURNAL. It doesn’t have to be anything fancy, but it’s always nice to have to look back on when you’re back home. Plus, you’ll have a place to put your cute postcards, if that’s what you like to buy.
  5. Items of interest: For me, that was my DSLR camera. For you, it might be your makeup collection. Or maybe it’s your favorite dress. I don’t know. If it fits, and is not too heavy, feel free to bring it with you, especially if you know that you’ll make good use of it!
  6. Adapters: Also a no brainer, but I’m going to put this on the list because, funny story, I somehow forgot to pack my adapters back in 2014, and so the first stop that I made in Paris was to the Apple Store at the Louvre to buy adapters for my computer/phone.

What not to pack (!!!):

  1. High heels: For those of you who wear high heels, I can tell you right now that it’s not worth it. You know who loves cobblestone? Europe. You know what doesn’t love cobblestone? Heels. I have two pairs of heels in France, and I can tell you that they’re sitting on the floor, staring at me and taunting me every time I reach for my Stan Smiths.
  2. Wardrobe: Yeah, you might think that you won’t buy any clothes abroad, whether it is to save money or otherwise. But you know what? You’ll probably want to buy new clothes regardless because I bet you that you’ll find the perfect dress or the cutest top or whatever, but those new additions to your wardrobe will add up in no time. I cannot tell you the times that I’ve ended up putting half of my clothes in the donation bins around town because I just have no use for them anymore or simply because they don’t fit into my suitcase.
  3. Stationery: This is saying a lot, especially from someone who loves her stationery. It’s not like France doesn’t have stationery, and it takes so much room in your suitcase. Bring the basics: a pen, your journal, and a pencil. If you’re studying abroad, wait until you’re abroad to buy your stationery. Plus, you can come back from your time abroad with that cool lined paper that is just so ~*~European~*~.
  4. Jewelry: Even if your jewelry is a second skin to you, I highly suggest you not bring it with you. Why? You won’t need it! The first time I moved to France in 2014, I brought so many of those statement necklaces that were in style. Do you want me to tell you how many times I wore them? Maybe once a month. This time, I brought what I always wear: my fleur-de-lis necklace, my two pairs of earrings, a bracelet, and two watches. Don’t weigh yourself down and save yourself the trouble of having to detangle 50+ pieces of jewelry.
  5. Comfort food from home: Okay, now I’m not going to say that I didn’t bring food with me, but I brought some products that I have had trouble finding in France (aka, flour tortillas from Mexico or maybe even Hot Cheetos). Now, if you are American and your comfort food is peanut butter, I’ll save you the trouble: HEMA sells organic peanut butter for 2 €! You can also find it in the ethnic supermarkets. Besides, there’s so much new food to try!!!
  6. Bedding: Completely unnecessary. You can find cheap bedding at Primark. Enough said.

Now, these are just some things on both of these lists, but I hope that this helps! Oh, and the most important thing to bring? An open mind ☺️

Bisous,

Lisdye

Leave a comment